PSB Autograph Forgeries

Q&As about collecting and collections, items and value of PSB related material. Discuss new and old PSB collector items.
DYSMC2009

PSB Autograph Forgeries

#1 Post by DYSMC2009 »

I have been meaning to bring this up. I am a collector PSB, and I have obtained many autographs in person, and I have also bought some online. I have been careful to question sellers and establish provenance. I feel that I have some idea as to how they tend to sign autographs, although I am not an expert.

I feel very confident that these autographs are forgeries.

It's a Sin
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Neil-Tennant-Ch ... Sw3v5Yo8hC

West End Girls
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Neil-Tennant-Ch ... SwImRYjBwH

Always On My Mind
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Neil-Tennant-Ch ... SwtfhYqlpJ

Music for Boys
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Neil-Tennant-Ch ... SwLEtYjWZk

Why do I think it is forged?
  • The style of the signatures is consistent and yet definitely feels off, especially Chris Lowe's signature. He doesn't try that hard with his signature. It just looks wrong. Neil's signature looks more authentic, but his signature is so minimal, I think it would be far easier to forge effectively. Chris Lowe's signature gives it away.
  • The sellers specializes in having hundreds of signed items (818). Where and how does he obtain them? I find it highly suspect.
  • The way all four are written at a 45 degree angle. Really? It looks very much like the same person is trying to duplicate the same style of autograph. I have not seen Neil and Chris sign multiple items like that in the same manner at the same time, with all their signatures at a 45 degree angle. This fixation on signing signatures at a 45 degree angle may be an attribute of the forger, but it is not something that Neil and Chris routinely do.
  • Some of the placement of the signatures are simply illogical, while trying to give the appearance of logic, e.g. West End Girls.