Live performances of Chris in past and now.

For general discussion of Pet Shop Boys topics.
AlwaysBoring

Live performances of Chris in past and now.

#1 Post by AlwaysBoring »

I'm a complete newbie so apologies if this has been discussed before...

I've been watching some live performances of the guys and I was really surprised to see Chris so involved. His dancing and rapping/singing in "paninaro". Are there any similar performances where he gets involved?. Also was there any reason why he decided to just stick to the keyboards in later performances?.

Dog

Re: Live performances of Chris in past and now.

#2 Post by Dog »

Good topic. I think the last time Chris performed Paninaro was on the Fundamental tour (2006). It used to be a pretty regular staple of a PSB show. He took on multiple roles in Performance (1991) including stripping in We all feel better in the dark and getting drunk in West End girls. That was probably his most active show.

Pandemonium (2009) is a more recent one which saw him dance (Why don’t we live together?), play electronic drums (Building a wall / Suburbia) and bash out the impressive intro to Do I have to? But I think it is fair to agree that he has been a little more reserved in the most recent Electric and Super shows. Neil had mooted that Paninaro might be performed at the Dreamworld shows so we live in hope.
Woof.

AlwaysBoring

#3 Post by AlwaysBoring »

I just watched “we all feel better in the dark”. I couldn’t believe I was watching the same guy. He seemed to be having a lot of fun. He seems so he something of an enigma it seems. Not that Neil is particularly forthcoming either. I’m a big Queen fan and Freddie was always particularly private but he was still pretty open in some senses and of course his performances were insane.

Where as Chris seemed to start out really enjoying live work and then maybe not so much.

MikeyC

#4 Post by MikeyC »